CampusCONNECT

APA CampusCONNECT logo
Five people texting separately

Bring APA to YOUR Campus!

The APA CampusCONNECT Series offers graduate students an inside look at need-to-know topics not commonly talked about in the classroom. This in-person, interactive event series is hosted simultaneously on multiple campuses across the country, with 2-hours of live-streamed speakers, engaging presentations, real-time Q&A, and complimentary food and drinks. Campus Ambassadors receive funding to cover the costs of food and drinks, as well as all of the required resources to execute a great event.

Upcoming Event: Networking for Success: Boost Your Networking Skills to Land Your Dream Psychology Job (Wednesday)

  • Date: Wednesday, November 7th at 5PM ET / 4PM CT / 3PM MT / 2PM PT
  • Speaker: Anne Hull, Career Management Expert & Founder at Hull Strategies

Join us for this free 1.5-hour, interactive event including complimentary food and an engaging workshop on “Networking for Success.” Did you know a recent study found that approximately 75% of successful job “landings” are related in some way to networking? In this valuable training hosted by APA Campus Ambassador Program, we will focus on the the dos and don’ts of networking, as well as various techniques for networking in person vs. virtually.
Learn How To:

  • Build enduring professional relationships characterized by trust and respect
  • Shift from traditional networking (focus on “me”) to networthing (focus on “we”)
  • Leverage your skills, strengths, and interests to maximize the impact of your network

To bring this event to your campus and access the Host Documents, please email Jessica Carson at jcarson@apa.org to access the event group.

Upcoming Event: Networking for Success: Boost Your Networking Skills to Land Your Dream Psychology Job (Thursday)

  • Date: Thursday, November 8th at 8PM ET / 7PM CT / 6PM MT / 5PM PT
  • Speaker: Anne Hull, Career Management Expert & Founder at Hull Strategies

Join us for this free 1.5-hour, interactive event including complimentary food and an engaging workshop on “Networking for Success.” Did you know a recent study found that approximately 75% of successful job “landings” are related in some way to networking? In this valuable training hosted by APA Campus Ambassador Program, we will focus on the the dos and don’ts of networking, as well as various techniques for networking in person vs. virtually.
Learn How To:

  • Build enduring professional relationships characterized by trust and respect
  • Shift from traditional networking (focus on “me”) to networthing (focus on “we”)
  • Leverage your skills, strengths, and interests to maximize the impact of your network

To bring this event to your campus and access the Host Documents, please email Jessica Carson at jcarson@apa.org to access the event group.

Past Event – What You Need to Know to Become an Advocate for Psychology

  • Date: Friday, March 16th at 4PM ET / 3PM CT / 2PM MT / 1PM PT
  • Speaker: APA Government Relations Team, Karen Studwell, JD & Amalia Corby, MS

Join us for this free 2-hour, interactive event including complimentary food and an engaging presentation from APA’s Government Relations Team.

They will share their top “Dos, Don’ts and Absolutely Nots” to help you become a successful advocate for psychology.

  • The “L” Word: Why Lobbying is NOT a Dirty Word
  • Why Your Engagement Matters More Than Ever
  • Advocacy Basics Training
  • Effective Communications — Sharing Your Story

Please note: You must be a Campus Ambassador to host this event. To bring this event to your campus, request to access the event page now.

Past Event – Become the Most Prolific Psychology Writer You Know

  • Date: Tuesday, January 23rd at 6PM ET / 5PM CT / 4PM MT / 3PM PT
  • Speaker: Andres De Los Reyes, PhD

Join us for this free 2-hour, interactive event including complimentary food, soft drinks, and an engaging presentation. Dr. Andres De Los Reyes will offer evidence-based strategies to boost your writing productivity, including:

  • Why Psychologists Must be Excellent Writers
  • Overcoming Dreaded Writer’s Block
  • Five Strategies for Writing Success
  • Transforming Strategy into Action

Please note: You must be a Campus Ambassador to host this event. To bring this event to your campus, request to access the event page now.

Past Event – Navigating Your Digital Life as a Psychologist

  • Date: Wednesday, October 11th from 5-7PM ET/4-6PM CT
  • Speaker: APA’s Associate Executive Director of APAGS, Dr. Nabil El-Ghoroury
  • Eligibility: Must be Campus Ambassador in Eastern or Central Time Zones

APA’s Associate Executive Director of APAGS, Dr. Nabil El-Ghoroury, will offer tips on managing your digital life as a psychologist, from social media and dating apps to the unwanted surprises of searching yourself on Google:

  • Unwanted Friend Requests: Best Practices for Managing Your Social Media
  • Politics of Swiping Right: Tips for Working & Living in the Age of Dating Apps
  • Digital Footprint: Managing Your Personal Site, LinkedIn, Rating Sites & More

Please note: You must be a Campus Ambassador to host this event. To bring this event to your campus, request to access the event page now.

Past Event – Managing Your Brand as a Psychologist

  • Date: Wednesday, October 12th from 4-6PM PT/5-6PM MT
  • Speaker: APA’s Associate Executive Director of APAGS, Dr. Nabil El-Ghoroury
  • Eligibility: Must be Campus Ambassador in Pacific or Mountain Time Zones

APA’s Associate Executive Director of APAGS, Dr. Nabil El-Ghoroury, will offer tips on promoting yourself as a psychologist, from crafting an elevator pitch to the most common brand management questions:

  • Give Me Your Elevator Pitch: How to Craft an Intriguing Personal Pitch
  • Social Media Savvy: How to Build Your Brand on Social Media
  • Top 5 Brand Management Questions: Our Biggest Brand Questions – From Changing Your Name to Blending Your Personal Passion with Your Brand

Please note: You must be a Campus Ambassador to host this event. To bring this event to your campus, request to access the event page now.